About the AMU

The Antarctic Micronational Union is the first micronational multinational organisation that comprises only of Antarctic micronations.

The main goal of the AMU is to organize all Antarctic micronations and protect each others’ territory and claims. The AMU also keeps the administration about all the current claims in Antarctica to avoid misunderstandings and conflicts.



The AMU was officially established in December, 2008 as the Grupo Del Acuerdo Micronational Antartico (GAMA) by the Kingdom of Finismund, Marie State and the Grand Duchy of Flandrensis. The Federated States of Antarctica and Keep Watch were the first micronations who joined the organisation after its foundation. The GAMA was founded as result of a conflict between Finismund, Marie State and Flandrensis against Jon Lawrence of Westarctica, also called the Great Micronational Antarctic War. This conflict ended on September 24th, 2010 when Niels of Flandrensis and Travis McHenry, founder of Westarctica signed the West-Antarctic Treaty.


In late 2009, the organization faces a crisis. Two of the founding nations, Finismund and Marie State, were disbanded. There was no structure anymore and the administration was incomplete. In January 2010 Flandrensis proposed the first elections of the organization. On January 15th, 2010 Grand Duke Niels of Flandrensis was elected as the first Secretary-General. The same day he renamed the organization into the Antarctic Micronational Union (AMU), a name that has more clarity.

From: MicroWiki, the free micronational encyclopædia.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s